Day 11: When I Was 12


A Lighthouse Seen From Carter Road, Bandra, Mumbai Image Courtesy: My Instagram
A Lighthouse Seen From Carter Road, Bandra, Mumbai
Image Courtesy: My Instagram

Today, tell us about the home you lived in when you were twelve. For your twist, pay attention to — and vary — your sentence lengths.

Tell us about the home where you lived when you were twelve. Which town, city, or country? Was it a house or an apartment? A boarding school or foster home? An air-stream or an RV? Who lived there with you?


 

Twelve was a fun age. Woah, that little sentence just made me sound like I’m an old retiree reminiscing about my childhood, and for all those wondering, I’m actually just 16, by the way. But yes, twelve was a way more fun age than 16 is. But that’s just me. I think, simplicity equals fun. To me, things are way more fun, enjoyable, less unnerving, whatever, if you just keep it simple. KISS (Keep It Simple, Silly, silly) definitely works, in most situations.

Speaking of simplicity, my house was far from the epitome of it. The house I lived in when I was 12, was actually the same house I live in today at 16, plus a few welcome changes, like repairs and stuff. Its not the ideal house to live in, but then the family I live with is not an ideal family either. We have a really small apartment on the topmost floor of a three-floor apartment complex. We, is six of us, my grandparents, my parents, my younger sister and myself. Well, its not ‘really’ small, but its definitely not big enough for six. I have lived here ever since I was born.

If you happened to arrive at my place, and somehow manage to do so while actively trying to not make eye-contact and subsequent conversation with anybody in the vicinity of my home, you would be happier than a dog with a brand new ball, provided you read the next sentence. The neighbors are vile. That’s right. That one word, ‘vile’, describes them most aptly and that’s all I need to say to you for once you read that word, your mind probably started stitching together a series of images of apparently vile neighbors, probably some of your own neighbors. And that’s enough food for thought.

These are of course, a few of the many neighbors in the vicinity. Most are generally pleasant but its the unpleasant ones I happen to bump into most often. And its not a pleasant meeting, just for me, I believe, because they are more than ready to start a long-drawn conversation every time I bump into them. There was this really nice family right next door, but unfortunately, they just had to move to the US of A for further education of their children, my friends, and because they had close relatives there. And that was that. They’ve come back to spend some time here but then they’ll be gone again, for a long time.

What’s really good about my home, is that because it is small, it really binds everyone together. We learn how to use the little space we have, as effectively as we can and in a manner that’s most convenient for everyone. Now, that really makes the house sound like a one room thing, but no it isn’t one. I did say that we aren’t an ideal family, and the fact that the place is restrictive in more ways than one, leads to some altercations, whether internal or externally expressed. We just deal with it. Its tough in the moment, but afterwards the atmosphere is a lot lighter than how it was in the first place. Most times. And that increases the living space by an inch or so in every direction, for a little while. And so, life’s gooood, in the words of Bruce Almighty.

Another thing that’s really good about the place is that its really close to the sea. Back about fifty years, the sea could be seen from the window, but now there’s tons of other buildings and what-not built up to block the view. The wind’s pretty determined though. There’s some gently lashing my face right now. The traffic’s generally light and cycling’s fun. Lot’s of parks and stuff around to jog at. So, yeah, life is goood.

Well, mom’s telling me to sleep (it is 10:41 right now) and stop writing this stuff. Apparently, it makes for bad publicity. So I guess I’ll sign off by saying that if you do happen to visit Mumbai, make it a point to have a leisurely stroll by the beach till your flip-flops are full of the beach garbage. Have a bite at our local stalls and don’t worry if you have food poisoning the next morning; its all part of the experience. Lastly, do come by the neighborhood and look around for me, I am free anytime to suggest many such awesome places to see and things to do 😀

2 thoughts on “Day 11: When I Was 12

  1. You write really well! I’d love to visit Mumbai, someday! I think I’d spend all of my life savings just travelling but first I need to have a life savings first. LOL

    Anyway, I can totally relate with how you described the way you and your family lived. I’m living with my family and my grandparents as well in small house and there’s never a day when someone gets angry from someone else being too messy or too noisy. But we make do with what we have. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you very much! Hahaha yes, Mumbai is an awesome place.

      That’s exactly how it is at my place as well. Plus there were repairs going on in the house for the last few weeks so we were all cramped up in a single room and we still managed pretty well. Its all about how well you adjust.

      Thank you for commenting! I appreciate it very much.

      Let me know whenever you’re really coming to Mumbai 😀 (I was just kidding about the food poisoning, by the way. More often than not, you survive Mumbai’s street food)

      Like

Great post, huh? Well, let me know!

