Free – Writing to Brainstorm


I haven’t written in a while so I’m just going to free-write today. Its difficult getting the juices flowing after a relatively long period where you just put them in cold-storage.

Well, I had a flu a few days back and I was feeling generally unpleasant in the days that preceded it. Also a bit on the days after it had been washed away. I was mainly in the house on the couple of days after the flu was gone. I went to play badminton a couple of days back with the parents and the little sister and we took a little walk later. What resulted was a hellish leg-ache the day later because I had spent my flu-days sleeping and my legs were awfully stiff. The legs are still aching a bit.

So, I went out for a walk yesterday, thinking I could loosen them up a bit more. The walk was real fun, especially because it was raining. I had my windcheater on so I didn’t get wet (and get the flu all over again). Walking by yourself is really fun, as I’ve learnt. It’s a different experience and if its raining, its ideal. I’ve actually come to love the gloomy weather, how, I do not know. I used to hate it not a year ago.

On that particular walk yesterday, I probably enjoyed myself more than I have ever enjoyed myself on any previous solo walks. I also realised many minor truths of life on the way (no kidding). I walked through small empty lanes where you can hear the patter of rain drops on the street, the cars, and the trees above. I walked on the main streets where the sound of the cars whizzing past you on the wet road reminded you of the sizzling of food on a pan. I also took a small stroll by a small beach where the crashing of the waves on the rocks overpowered the sound of the raindrops crashing around.

A picture I took (of the Bandra - Worli Sealink) on my walk.
A picture I took (of the Bandra – Worli Sea link) on my walk.

Below are a few of the things I learnt (in no particular order):

  • Hearing one earphone ‘open up’ like an ear (they got wet in the rain) is literally the most satisfying thing.
  • You can’t escape a row of trees without having at  least one drop of water fall smack – dab in the middle of your head after its rained.
  • Wanna get better at self – esteem? Stop looking down while walking.
  • You don’t leave the beach if you’re unsatisfied with the amount of time you’ve spent there. You just DON’T leave. STAY for a while more.

The first one is very unusual and I don’t think many people have experienced earphones shutting off like that because they got drenched and then it actually opens up again. It’s very satisfying indeed. But then the same one shut off again and it’s not opened up since. I think I’ve lost him. #respect

So now I’m thinking about movies because I’m a big movie buff so I really want to see Godzilla but there’s no quality torrents out yet. *sigh* Just by the way, I can hear you people mocking me under your breath for not watching it in the cinema while I had the chance.

I haven’t worked on my story draft fora long time now, and I think its going to take at least three days for me to get into the groove once I do start writing it again.

My college admission process just concluded. I got into a college that’s not only close by, but is also currently one of the best colleges around, in every aspect. It’s also a college that I’ve admired for a long while and surprisingly I got into it on the first merit list itself. So, I’m pretty chilled on that front.

I was watching this movie with my little sister a while back. ‘Hachiko’, it’s called. It’s about this loyal dog who waits for his master at the town’s train station everyday even after his master’s death, for all those of you who haven’t seen the movie. My sister just loves dogs so she just wanted to watch this movie. Its kinda unusual, the movie. Usually its the dog that dies before its master but here its the other way round. Plus the film’s been made in a really heartwarming way, it makes you feel for the characters and needless to say, the dog is adorable. So if you haven’t seen it yet, go see it.

I recently took the Writing 101 course on The Daily Post and I have to say that I have a different opinion of free-writing now. At the beginning of the course, the first assignment was of free-writing and just getting into the groove. At that time, I had never attempted free-writing. Now, I find it to be a really useful tool for brainstorming.

I don’t know if anybody else has felt this about their blogs but I think my blog is like another home to me. Somehow I just get that feeling. That might be because I haven’t gotten any real negative feedback from readers yet, but I really feel comfortable here, so to say. I am sure that a lot of people feel that way about their blogs too. I think it’s because I just love writing so much and this blog is a way in which actual people read what I’m writing. Its sort of like publishing a book and the people who like and view and comment are the customers, only they don’t pay you for buying or viewing your ‘book’.

So this is officially the longest piece of free-writing I have written to date; but then I haven’t written many either.

And this is the end of this one.

Toodles.

Great post, huh? Well, let me know!

