On Society, Prejudice, Judging and Introversion


Modern society gives rise to a multitude of problems, psychological and other. Sometimes these problems find their place in a person’s mind right when they’re kids and other times it happens when they are older. Its not easy to find them and even harder to accept their existence but once you have done so I believe its a little easier to get rid of them.

Not many ever realise they had an issue in the first place until they’re quite old. You’re told to have good habits right from your childhood. The same goes with these ‘issues’ and ‘problems’ I talk about.

I’m not saying I’m perfect. I’m not trying to sound like an arrogant little prick preaching to the world, how to be a better person. [Arrogant little pricks are the last people you would like to take that kind of advice from.] There are swathes of people that we see everyday. Many of these have, sometimes astonishingly perceptible flaws and though none of us mean to judge, these character-blemishes can sometimes be very bothersome. We sometimes find people that we just cannot stand, yet we have to deal with them every single day. They might be co-workers, mutual friends, neighbours, a bus conductor of the bus you travel by everyday or even your boss or a teacher.

There’s a guy I’ve met at college and I have the unique and generally-displeasurable pleasure of sitting next to him everyday. [I have just begun college so please bear with my repeatedly writing about college.] So, the guy seemed like a pretty decent guy in the beginning; kinda shy like me, doesn’t talk much to pretty much anybody, serious enough about studies but at the same time not a nerd-y guy. Turns out I was wrong about him.

But now we’re “friends”. And I’m stuck.

You see, here in India, not many guys opt for Humanities or ‘Arts’ [as it is called] voluntarily. Most guys end up in Humanities since the percentage required to get into it is comparatively less than Commerce and Science [though it goes up to the early nineties in the best colleges]. Plus, people from minority classes like Maharashtrians or Muslims, for instance, can get into any college simply on the basis of their being a minority, irrespective of their percentage. This invariably fills a college with people with a low intellectual level.

I am at one of the best colleges for Humanities in Mumbai but this college has a minority reservation for Maharashtrians who are basically from a lower education Board than I’m from and so its difficult to get along. There’s barely twenty guys in all my class and the rest of them [about 70 (its a huge classroom)] are all girls; as I said, not many guys opt for Humanities because it is thought that girls take Humanities because Science and Commerce is too much for girls to handle (goddamn traditional beliefs, I know).

So anyways, I started by talking about the problems modern society gives us. One problem that I have is shyness. I’m not blaming modern society for it because its not its fault, I’ve always been shy. But you know what? This blog actually helps a lot with that and I can say with conviction that I have actually changed as a person since I’ve started writing this blog. Again, I won’t say that its just the blog that’s helped; I have taken active decisions to try and be less shy, talk to people around, look confident and try and be confident and that’s helped too.

I recently saw this video on TED (below), in which the speaker Susan Cain talks about introverts and how they are not given importance by society.

 

 

I was also recently browsing stuff on StumbleUpon and I chanced upon an article on LifeHack which debunked a few common myths about introverts and I completely agree that these myths are really myths and a lot of people feel that way about introverts and I know because people have said some of these things to me. For example, recently at college I was introduced to a friend circle of my friend and we spent an hour or so between classes roaming the campus and I didn’t speak much because they weren’t really my type of friends and I respected this friend so I didn’t get out of the group either. When they didn’t see me speak much and just keep listening, they all went, “Oh he’s such an introvert he doesn’t say anything ever!” and stuff like that.

You can find that article here.

Well, I was just going with my thoughts when I started writing this and now my thoughts aren’t taking me anywhere really, so I’m just going to end this by saying that we all have our issues but we must learn to acknowledge them and learn how to deal with them without being a pain to others around us.

As far as introversion is concerned, I really think people need to start understanding what it is all about, I mean literally everybody I’ve met, has asked me at least once, why I don’t speak much. Even some friends I’ve known right through school have said that to me. When somebody says that to you, you just lose interest in talking to them, because you know that they don’t understand you. When somebody says something like that to an introvert, they obviously have a jumbled-up head; that’s how I think most people who talk that way are. They confuse things for themselves. But they hardly ever get that.

53588732
Peter Griffin really nails it.

 

3 thoughts on “On Society, Prejudice, Judging and Introversion

  1. Ur anger towards maharashtrians is noted but the ones u r talking about r the scheduled castes and further down… Upper castes like us to hav anger for them.. We study our asses off fir top colleges and these guys score as much as fifty and come here. Maybe ur opinions so because u studied in a school with minimum maharashtrians. It’s better to specify ur opinion to not draw unwanted anger… If u were a politician and made thus comment then shiv sena and mns supporters could hav harassed u by now 😂
    But i guess this language barrier between us such as i am a marathi u r a gujurati draws lines between us and even though we say we r United we r not… I guess if india is ever attacked this division will rot us

    Like

    1. Those that are aware of the Maharashtrian caste system in India understand that I’m talking of the lower class Maharashtrians. Those that are not aware of it are in most cases probably not Indians. So in either case I don’t really need to specify. And I agree with the fact that the system is not helpful in any way to people like us, who work very hard to get into an institution of our choice, only to be beaten by a guy with much lower marks but a birth certificate that says Scheduled Caste or something. I’m not really thinking of the MNS or Shiv Sena when I’m writing and frankly they don’t care I’m writing this way because its not like I have a great outreach or I’m influencing opinions against the Maharashtrian folk. And yes, if there’s anything that is going to be our downfall, its this language and community divide that we have.

      Like

Great post, huh? Well, let me know!

