Resurgence


The Red Devils.

Yes. Now the title makes sense, doesn’t it?

image

I haven’t always been a big football follower. I was always more into cricket because that’s a big thing here in India. But I’ve always been a Manchester United follower.

I guess it all began with my friends who had begun watching football in early grades. But I wasn’t allowed to watch the telly at erratic times at which matches were usually played. So I just read about it in the papers.

But since the past couple of years I’ve really been following football avidly and I’ve learnt its an amazing game. Of course, you usually don’t switch sides when you were inducted into Manchester United and I didn’t.

Last season was a debacle. I don’t want to say any more about that.

Though this season United have had the worst start in club history, I feel really positive about the games ahead. I didn’t give the team a chance against City before the Chelsea fixture and now I actually think they could just clinch a victory.

I feel positive because United resembled the old United against Chelsea. They looked like the United we all love and miss.

I had that terrible sinking feeling when Drogba scored and though it was a great goal from a great player (and my inner rational self applauds that), I really didn’t want to see that. I always thought United would draw with Chelsea. (I even hit ‘Draw’ in the ‘What Do You Think is Going to Happen’ section in OneFootball.)

And then when this happened, I literally jumped out of my seat and cheered for a full minute after that.

image

Manchester United is undoubtedly not merely a club. Its got a rich history which speaks volumes about what it stands for. It tells you that Manchester United is never down and out, just down temporarily. It bounces back, with time.

image

One thought on “Resurgence

Great post, huh? Well, let me know!

