Exercise is Good For You


Yeah, right.

I get all breathless when I jog and my legs and arms hurt when I cycle. I get light-headed if I exert myself too much, and then I lie in bed for the rest of the day like a seventy year-old. The next morning, my whole body is so stiff I can’t move a muscle without groaning. The next couple of days or so are a living hell and it is a pain to move around; I’d rather just hibernate forever. When the stiffness finally subsides, I try to get back to jogging or cycling, slowly, and I realise its going to take forever to get used to this exercise.

200_s (5)

And you tell me exercise is good for me. scoffs in disgust mixed with a tinge of self-pity

But then things slowly change, over a few weeks. Gradually, it becomes easier to cycle for long periods and the breathlessness is not as acute and that sensation of my lungs tearing themselves apart recedes. My thighs don’t pain that much and it feels good to get that gulp of fresh air (if you can call the air of Mumbai fresh). I can finally see my biceps growing, by just about half a centimetre or so, but its something nonetheless.

Maybe, exercise is good for me.


 

This post requires a bit of a prologue to better understand it. But I’m writing this at the end so it kind of makes this an epilogue-ish thing but think of it as a prologue at the end. If that makes any sense.

I am very good at procrastinating. Most people who know me, don’t know this about me. Those that do, and if they are reading this, are probably shaking their heads in agreement right now.

Another thing I’m very good at is not putting on weight. I don’t know if I have a great metabolism or a really awful appetite (or both; or none), or if there is something more to it, but I’ve always been on the lower side of the average weight that I must have. Recently though I’ve started putting on some but everybody (including the doctors) tell me I should regularly exercise to stimulate my appetite and hence gain those elusive kilos. In comes the procrastinating.

Yesterday, I decided to change things. Well, I actually decided that much before yesterday, but then scheduled to put into effect that decision on the day that was yesterday (I don’t call myself ‘Chiefest and Greatest Procrastinator’ for nothing). I took out my cycle again and had it all serviced and stuff and I took it out for a spin yesterday as well as today. And it was fun. And tiring. And all of that is what made me write about this little part of my life.

One thought on “Exercise is Good For You

Great post, huh? Well, let me know!

