A Tale of a House of Cards


House of Cards. What a show. Completely. Mind-blowing. Oh, Kevin Spacey you glorious creature.

I was recommended House of Cards by a friend recently. In fact, I had seen the pilot episode a couple of months back after seeing some awesome reviews, but somehow that episode didn’t really interest me at that moment, so I didn’t watch it any further, which I think was unfair and premature judgment on my part. However, after my friend’s recommendation, I decided to give it another try and I did, and now, well, I’m hooked. I just got done with the first season a couple of hours back and its just amazing. I can only imagine how much better it gets in the second and third seasons.

The characters, all the facets of their personalities, the direction, screenplay, story, and dialogues are top-notch. This is one of the best dramas I’ve ever seen, and there are very few that I rate so highly. Very few.

Francis Underwood being Francis Underwood.
Francis Underwood being Francis Underwood.

And you know what the icing on the cake is? That deadpan, piercing monologue that Spacey’s character Francis Underwood gives every now and then, looking right at you, breaking the fourth wall so often they don’t even bother to put it back anymore. Ever seen Deadpool break the fourth wall? Its beautiful isn’t it? Underwood is the only other character I’ve seen who is as good at it, if not better.

A political drama, the show is basically about the life of the protagonist, Francis Underwood, a United States Congressman. He constructs a plan to destroy the President Garrett Walker and his allies, after he denied Underwood the post of Secretary of State in a last-minute decision. This plan, being so elaborate, is understandably fragile and one mistake could potentially topple the entire ‘house of cards’ so to say. Hence, the name.

If you haven’t watched House of Cards yet, then you should. Give it some time, let it get its engine revved up and it will grow on you, slowly. Once it has, you won’t get over it, ever. Promise. I’ll write a public apology post here if despite liking this genre, you don’t like House of Cards. Promise.

Hope you guys like it, and if you do, please let me know!

Until next time! 😀

13 thoughts on “A Tale of a House of Cards

  1. Oh man! House of Cards is epic! I’ve kind of been interested in politics, not the mud-slinging kind, more like the covert operations kind.
    But, Frank Underwood’s brand is amazing!
    I started watching the series about 3 days back and I’ve finished around 9 episodes of the first season. Bad timing, ’cause I’ve my mid-terms coming up in two days, but I never thought I’d get this hooked on to it though. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am way over my study quota this week with all the House of Cards episodes so I’ll have to catch up with that first and then definitely House of Cards season two is at the top of the list. You too, have a great day! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Great post, huh? Well, let me know!

