Why Do I Write?


I write because…

Writing gives me peace. It is a medium for me to speak my mind. It is a way for me to sell my wares, so to say. My wares, here, are the things that I write. It is up to my readers to accept it or not, like it or not.

I write because I have things I need to share with the world, with whoever is willing to read. I have opinions and ideas, advice and ideals. I probably have more than my conscious mind can accommodate but then that’s how it is.

I always wanted to be this ‘perfect writer’. A sort of amalgamation of the world’s greatest, the best of all worlds, but I now believe there are no perfect writers. Only perfect stories. That too, is debatable. Let’s just say that perfection does not exist in this gorgeously imperfect world, and chasing that elusive gem is futile.

So, I write because that’s what I like to do. It gives me great pleasure to know that I have a medium here to express myself and that there are actually people that believe in me, in my expressions. There are few honours greater than the faith of people.

Ever since I can remember, I wanted to be a ‘big man’. In Hindi, people say, “Yeh bada aadmi banega!” which literally means “He will become a big man some day!”. Instantly, even at the age of 7, I knew that that’s what I wanted to be. I wanted to be somebody who changes things. Who changes the world. There’s times when I look at the world and I can’t begin to imagine what a dreary place some of us humans have made it. Some “systems”, that are in place, bother me to no end simply because they are so illogical and contradict so many other very valid ideals that ought to be respected. That’s humanity for you. I’ve always wanted to change these things, but I’ve also known that it is a very far-fetched idea, despite my unabashed optimism. Let’s call it being realistic. I feel writing is the way for me to change the world.

I am a person very interested by other persons. Humans intrigue me. Psychology piqued my interest when I found out about it and I’ve always been very curious about the human psyche. I intend to pursue some sort of career in psychology and writing and am currently studying my way to that. I want to help people overcome the limitations of their mind. I want to help people out of the psychological abyss. I want to make the world a better place.

That’s why I write.

8 thoughts on “Why Do I Write?

Great post, huh? Well, let me know!

