Map Insipiration


In the map above, you can see the big green thing called “Shivaji Park”. That is a huge, open ground in Matunga, Mumbai, India. If you walk from my home, you’ll get there in about 20-25 minutes. Its been somewhere I’ve gone many, many, many times over the 17 years I’ve spent on Earth.

Since I was born, I’ve lived in the same home as I do now so I know this neighbourhood, and beyond, very well. Shivaji Park has been so useful to the people living in this area, the area itself is now called the Shivaji Park locality. There’s people who come to walk, run, exercise in the gym situated in it, walk their pets, eat at any of the numerous eateries that have sprung up around this landmark or watch the sea that is just a crosswalk away from the park.

There’s number of reasons why Shivaji Park is so close to me. There’s another garden close to it where my parents often go for their evening walks. They’ve been doing so for maybe 10 years now, and I go there often with them. Sometimes we ditch that place and go walk at Shivaji Park instead. One of my aunt’s house is 5 minutes away from this garden, and she has a beautiful dog, so I often go there just to goof around with him. And Shivaji Park is another 5 minutes from her house so after I’ve been to her place I’ll go to Shivaji Park to have a bite, or just sit for a while. There’s also a Crossword Book Store right across Shivaji Park, by the seaside, a perfect place to go and just read for hours on end. (Sidebar: Their variety and overall quality of books has steadily gone down over the years so its not that great of a place, but they’re still well-stocked.) And now, my college is 5 minutes away from Shivaji Park as well. Its like a triangle, college on one side, Crossword completely opposite, on the other side, and the garden and my aunt’s place complete’s the triangle. I’ve already spent a year and two to three months at the college I’m at and I will probably be at the same college for another three years, at least, so I’m going to be frequenting Shivaji Park a lot.

You know, the thing about Shivaji Park is that its one of those places that doesn’t change much with time. Like, sure, there’s gradual development in terms of infrastructure and all, but other than that every time you go there, it seems like the very place you’ve spent so many great moments at. Its charm doesn’t dull with time.

Its a great place to be at.

4 thoughts on “Map Insipiration

    1. Yeah I guess I should have added some images of it because its a great place and there are definitely some wonderful images of it on Google. By ‘nearby now’ I meant that since I’ve been in college (for a year and a few months now) college has been another thing that’s been close to Shivaji Park. Maybe it came off as if I was trying to say I switched colleges or something and now it’s close to Shivaji Park. I should have probably have been clearer if that’s the case. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Great post, huh? Well, let me know!

