Coffee Update #6


COFFEE UPDATE5

Hey-ho, welcome to another coffee update! For those of you new to this, it’s the place on my blog where I periodically update you guys with what’s up in my life. I’ve got a lot to tell you this time, so let’s get right into it.

Grab a cuppa and settle in.


If we were having coffee right now, I’d tell you that I got back from my holiday away from the city a few days back. We’d gone to Lonavala, which is about two and a half hours away from Mumbai. We stayed in a really wooded area, with bungalows sprinkled over the place. It was peaceful as hell. The food was really good as well. It was just generally a really, really refreshing experience. I needed that. Pune is another really old and historic Maratha city that’s about another two hours from Lonavala so while we were at Lonavala, we decided to check out Pune as well. So we went and did that for a day. I’ve been to Pune a couple of times but haven’t really seen it, extensively. We checked out temples and museums and a zoo. The zoo was particularly noteworthy because there were times in there, when I was really genuinely scared. I mean, they had truck-sized tigers and even bigger white tigers in these enclosures that had no sort of wires on them. Just good ol’ cement walls surrounding it all. I later noticed they’d dug deep trenches in the inside of the enclosures, between the wall and the animals’ ‘territories’ which were apparently supposed to be enough to deter them from trying to jump over, but I’m still not convinced. Either way it was the first time I saw tigers so close up. Just one word: majestic. Oh, and I got stung by a huge-ass honeybee, so that’s one thing struck off the bucket list I never wanted to have.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If we were having coffee right now, I’d tell you that I have recently enrolled in a two year-long teachers’ training course at The Yoga Institute at Santacruz, here in Mumbai. It is a comprehensive course that teaches the student all about Yoga and its way of life, including the asanas and Pranayamas which are the physical aspect of Yoga, but also the teachings of Yoga, its philosophy and its views on Psychology, et cetera. Since I want to pursue Psychology as a profession, I feel doing this course would grant me a great deal of knowledge about the Indian view on the human mind, and would be a helpful to my career in general. At the end of the two years, I will be bestowed with a certificate saying I am a certified Yoga teacher, and will be regarded valid all over the world. I will have completed this course a year before I complete my Bachelors of Arts in Psychology. On the physical exercise front, I have also renewed my membership at the gym (it expired in January), and I just started going yesterday. Three months out of the gym and I feel the soreness again. Isn’t as bad as when I started going to the gym for the first time in my life, about a year ago but it’s there nonetheless.

theshawshankredemption

If we were having coffee right now, I’d tell you that I have a confession to make. The confession is, that I haven’t seen The Shawshank Redemption. Yet. It needed to be said. It’s the highest rated movie on IMDB for a reason, I guess. I’ll find out what that is, exactly, soon.

If we were having coffee right now, I’d want to ask you a couple of things.

  1. Firstly, I feel the blog is in need of a change of theme. Would you agree? Its not that I’m getting tired of having the same theme for quite some time now (because that happens), but that I feel there’s certain drawbacks of this theme. For example, there’s the matter of the sidebar. This theme doesn’t have an open sidebar, you have to click in the top-left corner for it to reveal itself. Whenever I try to picture myself as a reader of the blog, I always feel I wouldn’t always want to pull out the sidebar and scroll all the way down to it, because it is quite long. I may be wrong, which is why I need you, the readers, to let me know if the sidebar can sometimes get tedious. Themes with open sidebars are good that way, while you’re scrolling down the blog, the sidebar scrolls down along with you, so its in your vision, and you can always check out something that gets your attention. At the same time, though, one may feel the sidebar gets in the way of the subject matter, the post, that really matters. It takes away the minimal look a blog may have. I like minimal. Its why I went for this theme in the first place. I don’t know, I’m in two minds about this. You guys let me know what you think, though. It will surely clarify things for me.
  2. And, second, I recently tried my hand at a really different kind of post. Its been said many times that I am REALLY into movies and TV shows and stuff. I watch a lot of those. So this new kind of post, which I’m calling Rewind Reel, is based on movies. The premise is that I pick a random movie and I flip it on its head. That is, I reimagine it as it would have been if one is to watch it backwards, from the end to the beginning. Of course, 99.99% movies aren’t supposed to be watched like that so I use some creativity and humour I have been endowed with, to make sense out of reverse movies, and basically, entertain. Now, I haven’t really got a great response on that post. It could be because the movie I chose to inaugurate this new feature was a movie that I don’t think many have seen. I myself didn’t hear of it much after it had been released. Either way, please check it out whenever you guys can and lemme know what you think of it. I’d like to do more of that, and I probably will even if not many like it, but it’d sure feel better if people do like it.

Finally, if we were having coffee right now, I’d tell you that that’s all I’ve got for this coffee update and that I hoped you had fun chilling out with a virtual cup of coffee. Before, going, I’d ask you how you are doing. I’d ask you what’s going on in your life and how it’s working out. I’d also invite you for another coffee update, sometime soon.

See you guys on the other side.

2 thoughts on “Coffee Update #6

Great post, huh? Well, let me know!

