Not a Lot of Words


CHAOS

“Chaos. When you can’t wake up before 9 but college starts at 7. When you want Coke but get Pepsi. When there’s no Maggi. When you run out of [characters]”

BLISS

“The wife’s skull cracked open. Brains everywhere. He felt bliss.”


So, what the hell was all that up there?

Well, it was my attempt at ‘flash fiction’, or writing fiction using very few words and/or characters.

My college recently conducted a Flash Fiction competition in which I participated. The competition consisted of two rounds. In the first round we had a time limit of 15 minutes to write fiction in 140 characters (basically a Tweet), including the word ‘chaos’. In the second round we had a time limit of 20 minutes to write fiction in 10 words (any number of characters), that was based on or inspired by the word ‘bliss’. What I’ve written above were my entries for the first and second rounds, respectively.

Oh, and I won the competition.

LOL, that’s enough bragging for this year.

I did actually win, though.

Great post, huh? Well, let me know!

